Nearly a month ago, NRG went to the front page of Overwatch League related news when it was revealed in an ESPN article that they had signed DPS player sinatraa to a contract worth $150k. Now, NRG is once again the focus of the Overwatch world as they have announced the rest of the roster joining him on the San Francisco OWL team.

Among those joining sinatraa will be fellow 17-year old super, formerly the main tank for LG Evil. The two of them will be forced to ride the bench until they turn 18 in the spring, as per Overwatch League eligibility rules. Unless NRG signs more players there will be no substitutes for the squad to use until the pair’s birthdays.

After surviving the purge of NRG's old roster, hitscan DPS player iddqd stands alone as the veteran member of the team's Overwatch League roster. Joining him will be fellow DPS players Danteh, formerly of ARC 6, and BABYBAY, formerly of Kungarna. Returning to the top of the scene will be former Immortals tank Nomy, who was last seen playing with Virtue in minor tournaments. At flex support will be former Tempo Storm player sleepy, and rounding out the roster at the support role will be sinatraa's former teammate at Selfless, dhaK.

This announcement comes during a busy week for Overwatch League roster news. Earlier this week, OpTic announced that it had signed two players and a general manager that were to be announced later by the organization. That was followed by an ESPN report suggesting that the players were FNRGFE tank pair coolmatt69 and Muma, while the GM was long-time Overwatch analyst, flame. The report has yet to be confirmed.

Also announced today by NRG was a $15 million investment from a group that included Jennifer Lopez, NFL player and Bay-area native Marshawn Lynch, and former NFL player Michael Strahan. Some of the new investors were included in the team's announcement video, which unfortunately made no mention of zombs, a player that had been the subject of recent NRG roster rumors.

The current San Francisco Overwatch League team roster is:

  • Jay "sinatraa" Won (DPS)
  • Andrej "BABYBAY" Francisty (DPS)
  • André "iddqd" Dahlström (DPS)
  • Dante "Danteh" Cruz (DPS)
  • Matthew "super" DeLisi (Tank)
  • David "Nomy" Ramirez (Tank)
  • Nikola "sleepy" Andrews (Support)
  • Daniel "dhaK" Martinez Paz (Support)