On Monday, Blizzard provided long-awaited details regarding the "Path to Pro" in Overwatch, as well as announced which teams have been invited to compete in Contenders Trials and 2018 Contenders Season 1. Three divisions of Overwatch competition were discussed: Open Division, Contenders Trials, and Contenders.

The least of these leagues is Open Division, a tournament open to anyone (and his or her five friends) who wishes to compete. Open Division has no rank restrictions and will run for six weeks beginning in January. Registration for Open Division can be found here.

Top teams from the Open Division can advance to Contenders Trials, a new relegation tournament that feeds into Contenders. Some competitors from Contenders Season One and APEX have been invited to compete in Contenders Trials, including Kungarna and the Detroit Renegades for North America, and the following for Korea:

  • Element Mystic
  • MiG (formerly Afreeca Freecs)
  • Meta Athena
  • Meta Bellum
  • MVP Space
  • Seven

43 teams across five regions have been invited to compete in 2018 Contenders Season 1, which begins in March 2018. As was revealed in last month’s Path to Pro announcement, Contenders has expanded beyond North America and Europe, and its competition now envelopes what was formerly APEX, Premier Series, and the Pacific Championship. Top competitors from Contenders Season One and the aforementioned tournaments have been invited to compete in 2018 Contenders Season 1.

For Australia and South America, the top eight teams from each region's Open Division tournament will automatically advance to 2018 Contenders Season 1. Those who place 9-16th in Open Division will advance to Contenders Trials where they will compete for the remaining four Contenders slots.

Additionally, each Overwatch League team was given the opportunity to field an Academy team for Contenders. Seoul Dynasty, Los Angeles Valiant, and Dallas Fuel were the only teams to decline.

As of December 18th, the teams invited to 2018 Contenders Season 1 are as follows:

Contenders Korea

  • BlossoM (formerly GC Busan)
  • Kongdoo Panthera
  • Lunatic-Hai
  • Foxes (formerly NC Foxes)
  • Runaway
  • WSG Red (formerly LW Red)
  • X-6 Gaming
  • Conbox

Contenders China

  • 1246
  • Legend Young Beyond
  • LGD Gaming
  • LinGan esports
  • Lucky Future
  • Miracle Team 1
  • Miraculous Youngster
  • Vici Gaming
  • Shanghai Dragons Academy

Contenders Europe

  • 123
  • Bazooka Puppiez
  • eUnited
  • GamersOrigin
  • Singularity
  • Team Gigantti
  • London Spitfire Academy

Contenders North America

  • Envision
  • Faze Clan
  • Rogue
  • Boston Uprising Academy
  • Florida Mayhem Academy
  • Houston Outlaws Academy
  • Los Angeles Gladiators Academy
  • New York Excelsior Academy
  • Philadelphia Fusion Academy
  • San Francisco Shock Academy

Contenders Pacific

  • ahq e-Sports Club
  • Ardeont
  • Blank Esports
  • Flash Wolves
  • Hong Kong Attitude
  • Libalent Supreme
  • Machi Esports
  • MEGA Esports

The full rule-set for Contenders can be found here.