After a lottery selection process on the Overwatch League's Watchpoint series, the eight Overwatch League playoff maps have been decided. Two maps for each map type were selected, with an additional control map selected for tiebreakers. Following the lottery, further details about the playoff format were released.

The eight maps were selected in a process reminiscent of the NBA draft lottery, with Puckett selecting the maps from ping pong balls. Not every map was available for selection, including Overwatch's newest map, Rialto.

Following the map lottery on Watchpoint, Blizzard released more details about the playoff format. Each series will be a best-of-three best-of-mine, meaning that a team must win two best-of-five matches to advance.

The first two matches of each playoff series will play on predetermined maps. However, should a series go to a third and final match, the higher seed will pick the first map of the series and the losing side from the prior map will pick each subsequent map.

The playoff map pool is:


  • Hanamura
  • Volskaya Industries


  • Lijiang Tower
  • Oasis


  • Dorado
  • Junkertown


  • Eichenwalde
  • King's Row

Tie Breaker

  • Nepal

Blizzard also released other details about the playoffs, including patch and scheduling. The patch will be 1.25, the patch currently in the PTR. However, reworked Symmetra will not be included.

The quarterfinals will be played July 11, 13 and 14 while the semifinals will be played July 18, 20 and 21, all at the Blizzard Arena Los Angeles. Teams will be reseeded so in the semifinals so that the Los Angeles Valiant play the team with the better record and the New York Excelsior play the team with the worse record.

The playoffs will kick-off July 11 with the first series between the Boston Uprising Boston Uprising OWL Rank #5 NotE Lucas Meissner off tank AimGod Min-seok Kwon flex support blasé Jeffrey Tsang dps Colourhex Kelsey Birse dps Gamsu Noh Yeong-jin (노영진) tank Kellex Kristian Keller support and the Philadelphia Fusion Philadelphia Fusion OWL Rank #4 Boombox Isaac Charles flex support Carpe Lee Jae-hyeok (이재혁) dps EQO Josh Corona dps snillo Simon Ekström dps SADO Kim Su-Min (뜨용) tank neptuNo Alberto González support . The next playoff series of the day will be between the Los Angeles Gladiators Los Angeles Gladiators OWL Rank #6 Bischu Aaron Kim off tank Shaz Jonas Suovaara flex support Surefour Lane Roberts dps Hydration João Pedro Goes Telles dps rOar Gye Chang-hoon tank BigGoose Benjamin Isohanni support and the London Spitfire London Spitfire OWL Rank #1 Bdosin Choi Seung-tae (최승태) flex support Fury Kim Jun-ho (김준호) off tank birdring Kim Ji-hyuk (김지혁) dps Profit Park Joon-yeong (박준영) dps Gesture Hong Jae-hee (홍재희) tank NUS Kim Jong-seok (김종서) support .