Winter Premiere Live Finals Viewer's Guide

It's been a fixture-packed two months in NGE's $100,000 Winter Premiere but it is all set to conclude over two days and four best-of-fives at the PAX Arena in San Antonio. The broadcast is already live on twitch.tv/overwatch_nge (but seemingly not YouTube for this portion of the tournament) so strap yourself in for some high stakes Overwatch action as the single elimination bracket gets underway.

Schedule

Friday 27th January

Saturday 28th January

  • 10:00 PST / 13:00 EST / 19:00 CET - Bronze Final
  • 12:30 PST / 15:30 EST / 21:30 CET - Final

Prize Distribution

  • 1st: $40,000
  • 2nd: $20,000
  • 3rd-4th: $12,000

Teams

Immortals

  • Christopher "GrimReality" Schaefer (DPS)
  • Brady "Agilities" Girardi (Flex DPS)
  • George "Hyped" Maganzini (Flex)
  • Athen "Aythen" Zhu (Support)
  • Stefano "Verbo" Disalvo (Support)
  • Zac "Chance" Palmer (Tank)

Immortals top the tables in Phase 2 of Group play, only coming undone against coL in a tight 1-2 defeat. The absence of their main tank, nomy, due to visa issues is a hammer blow. All eyes will be on coach turned stand-in Chance to see if he can shake off the rust to recapture his pro form on the big stage.

Luminosity Gaming

  • Alexandre "SPREE" Vanhomwegen (Flex)
  • Vytis "Mineral" Lasaitis (Support)
  • Arthur "EISSFELDT" Marx (DPS)
  • Bastien "SuperPlouk" Klau (Tank)
  • Mikaël "Hidan" Da Silva (Flex Support)
  • Toni "Ube" Häkli (DPS)

Luminosity managed to scrap their way into the live finals ahead of Team Liquid under tiebreakers rules having beaten them head-to-head in Phase 2. They have been the most unpredictable performers in the top four, battling to adjust to the addition of Ube whose fearless aggression has helped to shape their destiny since stepping in for the benched Kryw in Phase 1.

compLexity Gaming

  • Jake "torkTJO" Lepoff (DPS)
  • Nicolas "NicolasTJO" Aubin (DPS)
  • Anthony "harbleu" Ballo (Flex)
  • Jack "Shake" Kaplan (Flex Support)
  • Joe "Joemeister" Gramano (Support)
  • Sergi "Winghaven" Torras (Tank)

Things got off to a shaky start for Winghaven with a baptism of fire when he stepped into trial as a replacement for Jkw midway through Phase 1. Despite playing at a significant ping disadvantage the Spaniard has proven his worth and has been flown out to continue is trial live on stage. Let's see what the most experienced Reinhardt in attendance can do on a level playing field!

Ghost Gaming

  • Andrej "babybay" Francisty (DPS)
  • Michael "mykL" Padilla (Flex)
  • Taylor "b1am" Forrest (Support)
  • Alex "Ajax" Jackson (Support)
  • Connor "ConnorJ" Johnson (DPS)
  • Luis "iRemiix" Galarza (Tank)

The Winter Premiere has really been Kungarna's tournament. They exploded on to the scene, capturing the hearts and minds of fans, and proceeded to earn themselves a sponsorship with Ghost Gaming. In a sense they have already won, but a victory here would only serve to further raise their stock. The team is set to fracture after the event with Ajax, ConnorJ* and b1am already involved in a new yet-to-be-announced venture. How much that will impact their performance this weekend remains to be seen.

#1
5 Frags +

Also being broadcast on https://www.twitch.tv/paxarena if you wanna avoid the twitch spam and actually discuss the game.

Also being broadcast on https://www.twitch.tv/paxarena if you wanna avoid the twitch spam and actually discuss the game.
#2
2 Frags +
SideshowAlso being broadcast on https://www.twitch.tv/paxarena if you wanna avoid the twitch spam and actually discuss the game.

But, but...Twitch spam is half the fun! Kappa

[quote=Sideshow]Also being broadcast on https://www.twitch.tv/paxarena if you wanna avoid the twitch spam and actually discuss the game.[/quote]
But, but...Twitch spam is half the fun! Kappa
Please sign in to post a comment.